Making Democracy Work

Calendar of Events

We sponsor meetings and events for the public and League members

Date & Time        Place        Description
Monday, September 12, 2016
5:30 - 7:30 pm
Hathaway's Hideaway
310 S. Ashley St
Ann Arbor
FALL MEMBERSHIP MEETING. Come for light refreshments and conversations with LWV-AAA members new and old. Non-members are welcome, so bring a friend.
Wednesday, September 21, 2016
6:30 pm
Chelsea Retirement Community
805 West Middle Street
Chelsea, Michigan
Candidate Forum. 6:30 PM Three Candidates for U.S. Congress for the 7th District will respond to LWV and audience questions.

7:15 PM Chelsea School Board (6 candidates for 3 places)

Saturday, September 24, 2016
7:00 am - 3:00 pm
AA Farmers' Market
315 Detroit St, Ann Arbor, MI 48104
Voter Registration.
Tuesday, September 27, 2016
all day
Nationwide NATIONAL VOTER REGISTRATION DAY.
Tuesday, September 27, 2016
3:00 - 7:00 pm
Ann Arbor District Lib
343 South Fifth
Ann Arbor, MI 48104
Voter Registration.
Tuesday, September 27, 2016
7-10:30pm
CTN Television Studios
2805 S. Industrial Hwy, Ste 200
Ann Arbor, MI 48104
Candidate Forum. 7pm AA School Board (8 candidates for 3 positions

9pm AA City Council Ward 5 (2 candidates)

9:45pm AA Ballot Proposal to increase term of office for Mayor and Councilmembers

Wednesday, September 28, 2016
7-8:30pm
TBD REGIONAL TRANSIT AUTHORITY BALLOT PROPOSAL. New property tax assessment to support development of regional public transportation in SE Michigan.
Thursday, September 29, 2016
7:00-8:30pm
Ann Arbor District Library-Downtown Branch
343 S. Fifth Ave
Ann Arbor
PUBLIC PRESENTATION. Participatory Budgeting - Giving city residents a voice in budget decisions

A presentation by Jeana Franconi and Michelle Monsegur, directors of the Cambridge, Massachusetts Participatory Budgeting initiative.

Co-sponsored with CivCity and A2Ethics.

Tuesday, October 4, 2016
7 - 10:00 pm
CTN Television Studio
2805 S. Industrial Highway, Suite 200
Ann Arbor, MI 48104
Candidate Forum. 7pm Wash. Comm. College Trustees (10 candidates for 2 positions)

9:30pm Wash. County Commission District 2 (2 candidates)

Wednesday, October 5, 2016
7pm
Ypsilanti District Library
5577 Whittaker Rd
Ypsilanti
CANDIDATE FORUM. State House Representative, District 54
Monday, October 10, 2016
7 - 9:30 pm
CTN Television Studio
2805 S. Industrial Highway, Suite 200
Ann Arbor, MI 48104
Candidate Forum. 7pm AA District Library Board (8 candidates for 4 positions)

9pm Wash. County Sheriff (2 candidates)

Tuesday, October 11, 2016
All day
County Clerk LAST DAY TO REGISTER FOR NOVEMBER ELECTION.
Tuesday, October 11, 2016
7 - 9:30 pm
CTN Television Studio
2805 S. Industrial Highway, Suite 200
Ann Arbor, MI 48104
Candidate Forum. 7pm State Representative District 52 (3 candidates)

8pm State Representative District 53 (3 candidates)

9pm State Representative District 55 (2 candidates)

Thursday, October 13, 2016
6:30 - 9 pm
Conor O'Neill's Celtic Room
318 S. Main St
Ann Arbor
Candidate Forum (date tentative). 6:30 - 9pm U.S. Congressional District 12 (4 candidates)
Tuesday, November 8, 2016
All Day
Your Polling Place GENERAL ELECTION.
Tuesday, November 15, 2016
4 pm
Bank of Ann Arbor
801 W. Ellsworth Rd
Ann Arbor
BOARD MEETING.
Tuesday, December 13, 2016
TBD
TBD DECEMBER DINNER.
Tuesday, January 24, 2017
4 pm
Bank of Ann Arbor
801 W.Ellsworth
Ann Arbor
BOARD MEETING.
Saturday, February 4, 2017
10 am - noon
TBD PROGRAM PLANNING & TAX AND BUDGET STUDY.
Tuesday, February 28, 2017
4 pm
Bank of Ann Arbor
801 W. Ellsworth
Ann Arbor
BOARD MEETING.
Tuesday, March 28, 2017
4 pm
Bank of Ann Arbor
801 W. Ellsworth
Ann Arbor
BOARD MEETING.
Tuesday, April 25, 2017
4 pm
Bank of Ann Arbor
801 W. Ellsworth
Ann Arbor
BOARD MEETING.
Tuesday, May 16, 2017
4 pm
TBD ANNUAL MEETING.
Tuesday, May 23, 2017
4 pm
Bank of Ann Arbor
801 W. Ellsworth
Ann Arbor
BOARD MEETING.